Prevent user from deleting a task

Nicholas Dodaro

27 May, 2015 06:00 PM

Hello- as a regional manager, I want to be able to assign a task to a local manager to complete. I want that manager to be able to mark the task as "complete" when it is done. BUT, I have found that in giving the local manager "edit" rights that allow them to mark a task as "complete", the manager is then also able to completely DELETE that task (even before completing it) and it disappears from my task list without warning or notification. Essentially the task vaporizes and can not be tracked as deleted, completed, not completed, and is no longer on that user assigned tasks list either. Is there a way to prevent that?

Thanks!
ND

1. Support Staff 1 Posted by John on 27 May, 2015 06:10 PM

Hi Nicholas

Sorry. Once a task is deleted it is totally gone.

But only an Owner / Coordinator or Project Manager can delete a task.

http://dooster.net/wp/tasks-basics/tasks-deleting/

and see information on permissions here http://dooster.net/wp/knowledge-base/people-permissions/

Thank you

John

2. 2 Posted by Nicholas Dodaro on 27 May, 2015 06:26 PM

John,

Thank you - but, I have found that Team Members can also delete tasks, and that is what is causing me some heart burn. For example:

[cid:[email blocked]]

The above team member can delete a task entirely. He is not an owner, coordinator, or project manager. He was merely assigned the task as at team member.

That deleted task, which I have tested twice today with two differen team members, does not show up on “assigned” or “activity log” for those users either.

Does that make sense?

ND

N. Dodaro