Bugs with removing shared status

Duncan's Avatar

Duncan

13 Sep, 2011 01:49 AM

I tried stop sharing but the member is not removed from the project list and cannot be added back as either a sharer or a member.

  1. 1 Posted by Susan on 13 Sep, 2011 02:25 AM

    Susan's Avatar

    Hello Duncan -

    Thank you for making us aware of this issue. I will report this to our team immediately and have them review it and see if this is a true problem or if we can make suggestions to correct it from your end.

    Susan

  2. 2 Posted by Duncan Suttles on 13 Sep, 2011 02:57 AM

    Duncan Suttles's Avatar

    Hi Susan

    Thank you. I also get an error box if I try and resend invite. However I cannot cut and paste the error dump that shows up.
    You might want to fix that so that error reports can be sent back for analysis.

    Best Regards
    Duncan

  3. 3 Posted by Susan on 13 Sep, 2011 03:00 AM

    Susan's Avatar

    Hello Duncan -

    Thank you for letting me know the additional info. I've passed that along to our team. We should be back in touch soon with a solution for you, but please be advised that due to time zone differences, it may be up to 10-12 hours before we can post a response.

    Susan

  4. Support Staff 4 Posted by ed on 13 Sep, 2011 09:17 AM

    ed's Avatar

    Hi Duncan

    Thank you for that idea

    Re your reported bug

    member is not removed from the project list

    This woks OK for us. What browser are you using?

    Did you refresh the screen?

    Please note the ex sharers name / profile will remain in your "ALL" people list (but should disappear from the "project people screen" - and the project they have been removed from will not show in their profile.

    and cannot be added back as either a sharer or a member.

    Please note that the ex sharer - if invited back - will not be sent another invitation. They will simply see the project in their list again

    Once added as a sharer they can only be invited back as a sharer not a member.

    (Unless they were a pre existing member who was promoted to a sharer)

    BTW please note that if you are testing sharing, make sure you use tow different browsers for the separate accounts. And make sure you are not still logged in under the "wrong" account

    Hope that all makes sense

    Thanks ed

  5. 5 Posted by Duncan Suttles on 13 Sep, 2011 01:26 PM

    Duncan Suttles's Avatar

    Hi Ed,

    The situation is erratic. I have

    Member A - removed from all projects as Sharer . Permissions list is empty. Can be added back as sharer to projects they were removed from
    Member B - removed from all projects as Sharer . Permissions list is full . Cannot be added back as sharer to project they were removed from

    In both cases the member was removed from the project list but the permissions list are not consistent .
    If one creates a new project a person previously flagged as a sharer can only be added as a sharer as the invite new will say email already exists. They will show up in the add from other project as name* and can only be added as a sharer.

    Why can't a sharer be changed to a member ? What if the sharer does not want to keep an account on Dooster ? What if the Sharer deletes their Dooster account ?

    Best Regards
    Duncan

  6. 6 Posted by Duncan Suttles on 13 Sep, 2011 01:34 PM

    Duncan Suttles's Avatar

    HI Ed,

    One other thing . Resend works for members but crashes for sharers. Says failed to re-send activation email and dumps a whole report . This bug seems pretty consistent ?

    Best Regards
    Duncan

  7. Support Staff 7 Posted by ed on 13 Sep, 2011 02:14 PM

    ed's Avatar

    Hi Duncan

    Thank you for the response

    Please see my replies to your email and bug report in line

    >>> I removed someone from all projects using stop sharing. They still show up under My People as a share

    that is "correct " / expected behaviour

    >>and under project Permissions as sharing those projects.

    If you mean in the "project people" screen then that is a bug. Please confirm

    >> If I try to add them back to one of the projects they are not listed as being in a project already

    Not sure why they would be listed as being in a project. They are not
    in any project at that point. Yes?

    >>nor can they be added as a new member as it thinks they are already registered.

    that is "correct " / expected behaviour

    The bugs are
    >
    > 1. They should no longer show up in Permissions

    possible bug as per above

    > 2. They should be available to add as a new Person

    No. that is "correct " / expected behaviour

    >>The situation is erratic. I have Member A - removed from all projects as Sharer . Permissions list is empty. Can be added back as sharer to projects they were removed from Member B - removed from all projects as Sharer . Permissions list is full . Cannot be added back as sharer to project they were removed from

    This sounds like it's becuase one of them was originally a member who
    was promoted to being a sharer - wheras the other was originally
    invited as a sharer

    >.Why can't a sharer be changed to a member ?

    sorry but that's not the way it works at the mo.

    A member can be "promoted2 to being a sharer. but not the other way round

    >>What if the sharer does not want to keep an account on Dooster ? What if the Sharer deletes their Dooster account ?

    We assume that sharers are more sophisticated users ie people who have
    elected to have their own Dooster projects.

    If they chose to downgrade to being a member, again we assume that
    they could use another email address

    I suggest this is what you do with your person. simply use another
    email address and have it forward to their usual email eg set up a
    gmail address It takes less than a minute to set up forwarding)

    Please let me know if I missed anything

    Thank you for pointing all this out to us Duncan I am sorry if it's at
    all frustrating

    best wishes

    ed

Reply to this discussion

Internal reply

Formatting help / Preview (switch to plain text) No formatting (switch to Markdown)

Attaching KB article:

»

Attached Files

You can attach files up to 10MB

If you don't have an account yet, we need to confirm you're human and not a machine trying to post spam.

Keyboard shortcuts

Generic

? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac

Recent Discussions

20 Aug, 2019 04:40 PM
12 Aug, 2019 09:02 PM
05 Aug, 2019 08:24 AM
23 May, 2019 05:47 PM
28 Mar, 2019 10:53 AM